Office of Field Placement

Step Three - Upload and Share

Recording Yourself Teaching in the Classroom in Three Steps

Step Three: Upload and Share Your Video

Cameras all produce different kinds of video files.  In many cases you will need to convert the file you get from your camera to another format before you can upload it.  You may also need to edit and compress your file.  You need your video to be saved in a format that the reviewers can view.  There are a number of formats that are acceptable:

  • quicktime (.mov or .qt files)
  • mpeg (.mpeg, .mpg, .mp2 or .mp4 files)
  • windows media player (.wmv or .avi files)
  • itunes (.m4v)

Some computers are not able to read all these file types.  .mov, and .mp4 seem to be the best choices for easy viewability.

Video Conversion Tools

Uploading Your Video to TK20

You may be asked to upload your video to a TK20 Field Experience Binder or Portfolio. Doing so, allows your Coach or Instructor to add annotations to your video to provide feedback. For instructions on how to upload a video file to TK20, please see: TK20 Student Video Artifacts Quick Guide.

Uploading Your Video to YouTube

The Philadelphia School District (PSD) recommends that applicants use YouTube to host and share their videos to be included for applications for employment. Temple University reminds students that videos of classroom teaching contain confidential information and images of minors. You must take the necessary steps to insure that any videos you upload to YouTube are NOT publicly accessible. We also recommend that you remove/delete any classroom videos you upload to YouTube after your job search is complete.

To get started uploading videos on YouTube from your desktop, follow the steps below:

  1. Sign into YouTube. You can sign-in using your Temple username and password (e.g. tuX###@temple.edu)
  2. Click the Upload button at the top of the page.
  3. IMPORTANT! Before you start uploading the video you can choose the video privacy settings. Because your video may include images of minors or confidential information protected by Federal laws, you must not make the video "Public". Select "Unlisted" or "Private".
  4. Select the video you'd like to upload from your computer.
  5. As the video is uploading you can edit both the basic information and the advanced settings of the video, and decide if you want to notify subscribers (if you untick this option no communication will be shared with your subscribers).
  6. Click Publish to finish uploading a public video to YouTube. Depending on the video privacy setting you selected (Private or Unlisted), click Done to finish the upload or click Share to privately share your video.
  7. If you haven’t clicked Publish, your video won’t be viewable by other people. You can always publish your video at a later time in your Video Manager.

Sharing Your Unlisted YouTube Video

Once the upload is completed YouTube will send you an email to notify you that your video is done uploading and processing. You can then forward that email to colleagues or employers for easy sharing. If you need to recover the link, go to your video manager and click the "edit" button for the video. Look to the right of the video on the edit page, under video information and you'll see "Video URL".

Recommended Video #3: Change the privacy settings for your video

Recommended Video #4: How to Share a Private YouTube Video

 

Note: content adapted from "CSUN PACT videotaping guide" from the California State University Northridge (10 March 2015)