Temple University Baptist Temple
Temple University

1884    First course for teachers offered. “Kindergarten Theory” is offered for teachers from the School District of Philadelphia

1901    Laura Carnell offers first systematic teacher education program for teachers from the School District of Philadelphia. The program offers an Associate Degree in Elementary Education

1902    Department of Pedagogy created

1910    Bachelor’s degree in physical education offered

1917    More than 20 education courses offered in the University

1919    Founding of Teachers College; George Walk named dean

1923    Five Master’s degrees and an Ed.D. degree created

1925    College accredited by the New York Board of Regents

1931    Temple acquires the Oak Lane Country School and converts it to a lab school for the College

1938    School District of Philadelphia closes its Philadelphia Normal School and sends its students to the College

1948    Conrad Seegers becomes second dean of the College

1953    Joseph Butterwick becomes acting dean

1955    Willard Zahn becomes permanent dean

1960    College changes its name to College of Education

1963    Paul Eberman becomes dean

Ritter Hall Dedication
Ritter Hall Dedication October 1965
Photo credit: Office of Public Information Temple Digital Collections

1965    Ritter Hall built- the first new building after Temple becomes state related

1966    Intern Teaching Program created- one of the first in the nation aimed specifically at second career professionals

1973    Benjamin Rosner named dean

1973    Ritter Annex opens- College occupies all space in Ritter Hall complex

1974    Roy Kress named acting dean

1975    Jay Scribner named dean

1977    Master of education degree created in Nigeria

1983    Masters and Ph.D. in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages offered at Temple University- Japan

1986    Richard Englert named dean

1987    Center for Research in Human Development and Education created; Margaret Wong director

1988    College becomes a founding member of the Holmes Group

1990    Institute on Disabilities, Pennsylvania’s Center for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities, becomes part of the College

1993    Trevor Sewell named dean

Provost's Conference
Floyd Alston, Trevor Sewell, and David Hornbeck at the Provost's Conference.
Photo credit: Dias. Temple Digital Collections

1996    College offers bachelor’s degree in Jamaica

2001    Joseph DuCette named acting dean

2003    Kent McGuire named dean

2011    James Earl Davis named acting dean

2012    College offers Ed.D. in Educational Leadership in Jamaica

2013    Gregory Anderson named dean

2014    College receives multi-million dollar Choice Neighborhood Initiation grant

2015    Intergenerational Center joins the College

2019    100 Year Anniversary Celebration

2020    College changes its name to College of Education and Human Development

2022   James Earl Davis named interim dean