Temple Flag

The College of Education and Human Development is well-represented at the 2023 Annual Meeting of American Educational Research Association in Chicago, IL, April 13-16, 2023. The AERA conference program includes various research paper sessions, symposia, roundtables discussion, expert conversations, and workshops.   

Congratulations to Avi Kaplan, professor of psychological studies in education, on being selected as one of the 2023 AERA Fellows!  

The AERA Fellows Program honors scholars for their exceptional contributions to and excellence in education research.  

Nominated by their peers, the 2023 Fellows were selected by the Fellows Committee and approved by the AERA Council, the association's elected governing body. They join a total of 714 AERA Fellows.  

"AERA Fellows demonstrate the highest standards of excellence, and we are pleased to welcome this year's class," said AERA Executive Director Felice J. Levine. "The 2023 AERA Fellows join a prestigious group of exceptional scholars and deserve this honor because of their significant contributions to the field."  

AERA announced the 2023 award winners in education research. Recipients include CEHD alumna Linda Darling-Hammond and Exemplary Scholars Across Education Research Fields and Career Stages.   

Linda Darling-Hammond, President and CEO of Learning Policy Institute, is the recipient of the 2023 Distinguished Public Service Award.  

This award is granted annually in recognition of an individual who has worked to enact or implement policies well-grounded in education research or has been at the forefront of efforts to increase recognition and support for education research.   

This year's program includes the following CEHD faculty members and graduate students.   

Maia Cucchiara   

Timothy Patterson   

Jennifer Johnson   

Jessica Hadid   

Hyangeun Ji   

Lindsay Metzker   

Linlin Wang   

Annemarie Hindman   

Laurie Shirley Esposito   

Avi Kaplan   

Sabina Neugebauer   

Wanda Brooks   

Susan Crandall Hart   

Emmaline Ellis   

Catherine Pressimone Beckowski   

Jake Winfield   

Kelly McGinn   

Qiling Wu   

Joseph Eisman   

Christine Woyshner   

Sara Fiorot   

Leonard Waks, Emeritus   

Barbara Wasik   

Kristie Newton   

Khalia Braswell   

John Hall   

Julie Booth   

Sarah Cordes   

Carol Brandt   

Lori Shorr   

Crystal Austin   

Renée Tobin  

Frank Farley, Emeritus   

Meixia Ding   

Xuejing (Nicole) Xu   

Rahma Goran   

Ishwar Bridgelal   

Sophia Seifert   

James Earl Davis   

Laura K. Young   


The American Educational Research Association (AERA) is the largest national interdisciplinary research association devoted to the scientific study of education and learning. Founded in 1916, AERA advances knowledge about education, encourages scholarly inquiry related to education, and promotes the use of research to improve education and serve the public good. Find AERA on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram.